December 2011
March 2004
March 2009
June 2009
December 2012
December 2007
June 2008
March 2008
June 2012
December 2010

CAA Awards

Awards and prizes are presented annually to students, postdoctoral fellows, and other researchers. Potential applicants can obtain full details of the prizes and their eligibility conditions, as well as application forms and procedures from the Awards Coordinator of the CAA. Applications for student awards should include both a CV from the student and a reference letter from their supervisor.

  • List of CAA Prize Winners (1990-2017)
  • PDF List of CAA Prize Winners (1990-2017)

List of current awards and prizes:

  • Shaw Postdoctoral Prize in Acoustics
    • $3,000, postdoctoral work
  • Bell Student Prize in Speech Communication and Hearing
    • $500, graduate student
  • Fessenden Student Prize in Underwater Acoustics
    • $500, graduate student
  • Eckel Student Prize in Noise Control
    • $500, graduate student
  • Albert S. Bregman Student Prize in Psychological Acoustics
    • $500, graduate student
  • Thomas D. Northwood Student Prize in Architectural and Room Acoustics
    • $500, graduate student
  • Hétu Prize in Acoustics
    • A Book in Acoustics and one-year subscription to Canadian Acoustics, undergraduate student
  • Canada-Wide Science Fair Award in Acoustics
    • $1000 and a one-year subscription to Canadian Acoustics, senior-level student
  • Directors’ Awards
    • $250 for best student paper and $250 for best paper by an individual member published in Canadian Acoustics
  • Student Presentation Awards
    • Three, at $500 each, for students making best presentations during the CAA Conference
  • Underwater Acoustics and Signal Processing Student Travel Award
    • One $500 or two $250 awards annually to assist students travelling to national or international conferences